Announcing Paris, Stage 3

May 28, 2010

Semesters 1 and 2 are finished. My French exam yesterday was not the most uplifting end to this spring’s work, but I am officially done with Junior year of college.

I am not done with Paris though, or classes, so voilà my official blog announcement: I am staying until July 7th to do SBC’s Summer Program and to (most importantly) work on Summer Honor’s Research for my future Senior Honor’s Thesis. And guess what else? I’M MOVING!

My host family here in Paris has become a real family to me. But just like with my American family there comes a time when I need to try being on my own. I’ll be moving from the 6th arrondisement to the 8th, and so I’ll be exploring a whole new side of town.

Last night my future apartment’s current resident and JYF student Reed invited me and everyone else over for a huge party and end of the semester celebration. Being 21 and in Paris is the greatest, even if it means going to parties (and soon living in) a 5th floor apartment that doesn’t have an elevator.

We drank wine, ate cheese with bacon-filled crackers (Reed adores them, I am personally against any sort of bacon paste, but they definitely were unique…), chatted in the ‘kitchen’ and multi-purpose bedrooms/living spaces, and we also enjoyed the beautiful 5th story balcony. After a while we turned off the music and played charades, followed by the infamous ‘Hat Game’ which we only got 1/3 of the way through since by this point it was very late and we were all really tired, but just before I left I snapped a photo of the table that pretty much sums up the night’s goings on: sans the bacon crackers…

Objets d'art, objets de nature, objets de jeu, et objets de la vie

A bientôt!

PS. Tuesday is moving day, apartment pictures to come soon!

3 Responses to “Announcing Paris, Stage 3”

  1. Laura Trudeau said

    can I have a little apartment in Paris too?

  2. Anna said

    I am so beyond jealous you are moving into my old apartment. I miss it so much. Don’t be surprised if I show up at your door one evening begging to come in and remember the good old days.

Leave a Reply

